DA Bicol fetes Gawad Saka, Rural Women Achievers 2018

Usec. Evelyn G. Laviña, Undersecretary for High Value Crops and Rural Credit lauded the farmers in the Bicol region for their continued support to food security and sustainability.
NAGA CITY (Bicol Standard) – The Department of Agriculture Regional Field Office 5 honored the Gawad Saka and Rural Women Achievers 2018 at the Convention Center, Avenue Plaza Hotel, Magsaysay Avenue, on Wednesday afternoon here.

The awarding ceremony is an annual activity that recognizes the efforts of groups and individuals in agricultural development, food security, and sustainability in the region.

Usec. Evelyn G. Laviña, Undersecretary for High Value Crops and Rural Credit, and Chairperson of DA-Gender and Development (GAD) Focal Point System, said the region is doing well in terms of agriculture.

In fact, she noted that many local farmers are reaping awards in the national level in the field of agriculture.

“Our goal then is to continue the programs and projects that will develop the agricultural products of the Bicol region, such as the pili and the sili,” Laviña emphasized.

She also expressed her gratitude to the local officials who attended the event for their unceasing support to the programs of the Department of Agriculture.

“Our common goal is healthy food for the future,” she added, noting that the awarding ceremony coincides with the celebration of World Food Day.

The Rural Women Achievers 2018 are Josephine G. Artiaga of Lupi, Camarines Sur – Regional Winner; Maricel G. Base of Polangui, Albay – 1st Runner-up; Fe B. Carranza of Panicuason, Naga City – 2nd Runner-up; and Remedios P. Ardenete of Irosin, Sorsogon – 3rd Runner-up.

Meantime, the Gawad Saka Achievers are: Genaro A. Tamon of Magarao, Camarines Sur – Outstanding Rice Farmer; Angelita A. Cerillo of Tigaon, Camarines Sur – Outstanding Corn Farmer; Pepito M. Amaranto of Daraga, Albay – Outstanding High Value Crop Farmer; Elmer S. Salazar of Tigaon, Camarines Sur – Outstanding Organic Agriculture Farmer; Josephine G. Artiaga of Lupi, Camarines Sur – Outstanding Small Animal Raiser; Napo RIC of Polangui, Albay – Outstanding Rural Improvement Club; MAFC Malilipot of Malilipot, Albay – Outstanding Municipal Agricultural and Fishery Council (MAFC); PAFC Daet of Daet, Camarines Norte – Outstanding Provincial Agricultural and Fishery Council (PAFC) and MFARMC of Tiwi, Albay – Outstanding Municipal Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Management Council (MFARMC).

During the awarding ceremony, products of various local farmers such as food items, handicrafts, and accessories were also showcased in an exhibit.