UNCean wins Search for Jose Rizal Model Students

NAGA CITY—Another UNCean made it to this year’s Search for Jose Rizal Model Students of the Philippines. Francis P. Orasa, a 4th year BSEd student, is the latest in a row of outstanding college students from the University of Nueva Caceres to win the coveted search.

Francis P. Orasa
Francis P. Orasa
Mr. Orasa received the award as one of Ten Jose Rizal Model Students of the Philippines for 2015 in a fitting ceremony held on December 29, 2015 at the Luneta Park, Manila.

An A student who has combined both exemplary academic performance and active involvement in school and community activities, Mr. Orasa is a consistent Dean’s Lister (First Honors) and has occupied various leadership positions. He is currently the vice president of the University Student Government, overall president of the Graduating Class 2016 and past governor of the Education College Board. He is a staff writer of The Torch, the official newsletter of the College of Education.

He is a delegate to various leadership seminars and facilitator and project head of various school and community projects. He was actively involved in a community project for the out of school youth in Sua, Camaligan, Camarines Sur by teaching them skills resulting in productive jobs among the marginalized youth of the adopted barangay. He was a recipient of the Golden Torch Awards for Leadership and Service given by the College of Education in recognition of his active involvement in campus and community projects.

The Search for Jose Rizal Model Students of the Philippines gives due recognition to ten outstanding college students in the country who best epitomize the qualities of academic excellence, student leadership, and community engagement of our National Hero and Martyr, as well as emulate his lofty ideals, high principles, civic-mindedness and courageous nationalism. The search is sponsored by the Knights of Rizal Supreme Council.

Other UNCeans who received the same award in the past include: John Paul Abe (2013); Mary Allysa Jenica Sariba (2012); Clarissa Lavena A. Bombase (2011); Ronnel Joseph T. Competente (2010); Butch O. Saulon (2004); and Monica A. Tordilla (1988). (AAFullante-AVPSAS)

Popular Posts





Powered by Blogger.