NCF Tigers seizes Inter-Collegiate Cup Grand Slam

NAGA CITY—The Naga College Foundation (Tigers) trounced the University of Nueva Caceres (UNC) Greyhounds, 89-84, in the 11th Naga City Inter-Collegiate Basketball Championships on October 10 at Jesse M. Robredo Coliseum, notching a four-peat grand slam to cap their impressive performance this season.

Tigers Captain Ardy T. Magalong who was named Finals Most Valuable Player (MVP) shot two free throws in the last two seconds of the fourth regulation forcing the game to overtime, 75-75.

“Basta ako ginawa ko lang best ko. Kung ‘di dahil sa coach, teammates, at NCF community ‘di ko magagawa ang lahat ng ito.” said Magalong.

The captain added that it was the hard work that made them a champion for the fourth consecutive year. “'Ika nga, kailangan mong paghirapan ang gusto mo,” he said.

The Tigers finished the season with a no-loss record.

In addition, Magalong #25, Ojoula #14, and Hermonio #19 were hailed as members of the Mythical
Five this season alongside with the Greyhounds’ Caroche #7 and Lumberio #18.

It would be recalled that the Tigers first appeared in the finals after a surprising finish in the elimination round at number one. The team, however, suffered heartbreak in the do-or-die finals showdown against the Ateneo de Naga’s Golden Knights.

The team bounced back and came out stronger in the next seasons of the collegiate league.

They overpowered UNC Greyhounds in 2012, won against Ateneo in 2013 and 2014, and this year prevailed over the Greyhounds.

Off-season, the NCF Tigers continues to train by joining different inter-commercial basketball tournaments such as Mayor’s Cup in Naga City, Camaligan, Libmanan, Pasacao and other invitational games in and out of the region.

The scorecard

NCF Tigers: #25 Magalong – 19 pts., #14 Ojoula – 12 pts., #19 Hermonio – 12 pts., #6 Marquez – 12 pts., #7 Romana – 8 pts., #31 Okpe – 8 pts., #24 Belarmino – 6 pts., #24 Aquino – 4 pts., #16 Canete – 3 pts., #10 Mendiones – 3 pts., #20 Armiger – 2 pts.

UNC Greyhounds: #18 Lumberio – 22 pts., #13 Bulawan – 13 pts., #15 Beron – 12 pts., #11 Relucio – 8 pts., #10 Cervantes – 10 pts., #7 Caroche – 8 pts., #17 Villaseñor – 6 pts., #8 Barde – 5 pts., #12 Estrada – 2 pts (by James Art H. Enciso)


Powered by Blogger.