Monday, March 9, 2015

8 Bicolana beauties vie for Binibining Pilipinas 2015 crowns

(UPDATED)NAGA CITY—Eight Bicolanas are among 34 candidates hoping to clinch one of the five crowns up for grabs in the Binibining Pilipinas 2015 Pageant. 

Bicol region has been tagged by some as the “beauty capital of the Philippines,” after many of its queens have brought home national and international pageant crowns.

8 Bicolana beauties vie for Binibining Pilipinas 2015 crowns

Bicolana beauties in Binibining Pilipinas 2015

This year, the provinces of Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Albay, and Masbate are all represented in the country’s oldest and most prestigious beauty pageant.

They are: Mae Liezel J. Ramos, Princess Joy V. Camu, Marvi Ann Razon De Lima, Christi Lynn McGarry, Tanya Angelina Nicole Hyde, Ina Dominica Guerrero, Hannah Ruth Sison, and Ria Rabajante.

Mae Liezel J. Ramos, Binibini 13, is determined to win any of the Binibini crowns this year. Last year, the 24-year-year-old standout from Camarines Sur landed among finalists in Binibining Pilipinas. Mae Liezel sees herself as a thrill-seeker who loves extreme rides in theme parks. She is also a certified foodie who enjoys restaurant hopping.

Statuesque Princess Joy V. Camu, Binibini 14, is a professional fire dancer. The 20- year-old hotel and restaurant management student loves fashion, traveling and dancing. She enjoys the support of her hometown, Tiwi, Albay. Princess Joy is among the early pageant favorites.

Marvi Ann Razon De Lima is Binibini 16. The 24-year-old beauty from Iriga City is a registered nurse. She is currently pursuing a master's degree in surgical nursing. She also loves baking that she ventured this hobby to an online business.

Christi Lynn McGarry is Binibini 19. At 5’11’’, she is one of the tallest candidates. The striking 24-year-old from Nabua, Camarines Sur is a sports enthusiast. She was a volleyball and basketball varsity player during her student days. A free spirit, she loves travelling and has been to 15 countries. Many pageant enthusiasts consider her as a front-runner.

Binibini 20 is Tanya Angelina Nicole Hyde. The proud 23-year-old Masbateña is a certified yoga teacher. Tanya, a fashion design and marketing graduate, is also into extreme sports like rock climbing and wakeboarding. She takes pride in the fact that she has lived in 6 cities.

Binibini 27 Ina Dominica Guerrero is a 21-year-old lass from Capalonga, Camarines Norte. She describes herself as a scrap-booking expert. She considers herself blessed with a fast metabolism that she can eat as much without getting fat.

Binibini 28 Hannah Ruth Sison hopes to finally get a crown this year, after finishing second runner-up in last year's Binibini. She hails from Oas, Albay. A self-confessed geek, the 26-year-old candidate dreams to make mobile apps and animated storybooks for kids.

Also from Oas, Albay is Binibini 3 Ria Rabajante. The 24-year-old exotic beauty is, however, representing Pasig City in the pageant. Ria, who is a preschool teacher and an inspirational speaker, adores cycling and photography.

Guerrero named finalist for Best in National Costume

Among the five finalists handpicked for the Best in National Costume award was Binibini 27 Ina Dominica Guerrero.

The Camarines Norteña impressed the judges with her exquisite yellow and white ensemble designed by John Cliff. 

The winner for Best in National Costume will be selected based on online votes. The result will be revealed on pageant night.

Bicolana beauties

Last year, two of Binibining Pilipinas major crowns were won by Albayanas. Ma.Yvethe Avisana Santiago and Mary Ann Bianca Guidotti were crowned Binibining Pilipinas Supranational and Binibining Pilipinas International, respectively. 

Miss World Philippines 2014 Valerie Weigmann is also from Albay.

Other Bicolana pageant icons include: Miss Universe 1999 first runner-up Miriam Quiambao, Miss International 2005 Precious Lara Quigaman, Miss Universe 2010 fourth runner-up Venus Raj, Miss International 2009 Bea Rose Santiago, Miss International 2009 Top 15 finalist Melody Gersbach, Bb. Pilipinas-International 2010 Top 15 finalist Dianne Necio. 

The Binibining Pilipinas 2015 Grand Coronation Night will be held at the Smart Araneta Coliseum on March 15. --BICOLSTANDARD.COM

Featured Post

Bicol Standard at 25 years hits 21 million views

NAGA CITY (Bicol Standard) – Bicol Standard, the region’s most read and fastest-growing news source, is celebrating its 25th anniversar...