Bicol newspaper | Bicol Standard | Get Bicol news about the Bicol region: Naga City, Camarines Sur, Albay, Legazpi City, Masbate, Sorsogon, Camarines Norte and Catanduanes.

Tuesday, March 3, 2015

BU selects new prexy March 4

LEGAZPI CITY—The new president of Bicol University (BU) will be elected tomorrow, March 4, at the Commission on Higher Education Main Office at University of the Philippines Diliman in Quezon City.

Four contenders are eyeing the position of the eighth president of Bicol University, including Dr. Domingo E. Angeles, UPLB Dean of the College of Agriculture; Dr. Arnulfo M. Mascariñas, BU Research and Development Center Director; Dr. Helen M. Llenaresas, BU Vice President for Academic Affairs; and Dr. Amelia A. Dorosan, BU Vice President for Administration.

Among those who will vote for the new president are: Dr. Patricia Licuanan, Chairperson, Commission on Higher Education, and Chairman/Presiding Officer of the Board of Regents; Dr. Fay Lea Patria Lauraya, President, Bicol University and Vice Chairman of the Board of Regents; Sen. Pia S. Cayetano, Senate Committee on Education, Arts and Culture; Roman T. Romulo, Committee on Technical and Higher Education House of Representatives; Engr. Luis G. Banua, Officer-in-Charge, NEDA Region V; Adelaine D. Bautista, Chairperson, University Student Council of Bicol University; Engr. Joseph B. Esplana, President, BU General Alumni Association, Inc.; Dir. Tomas B. Briñas, Regional Director of DOST Region V; Engr. Abelardo R. Bragas, Regional Director of DA Region V; Prof. Noel Rafer, President of the BU Union of Faculty Association, Inc.; Atty. Hardy Aquende, Prominent Citizen and Member of the Board of Regents; Engr. Clement Ibo, Member of the Board of Regents; and Atty. Norly Reyes, Appointed Secretary-General of the Board of Regents.

The four contenders, it will be recalled, presented their vision and plans for the university for the next for years on January 26 at the Bicol University Ampitheater and The Oriental Hotel.

Incumbent president Dr. Fay Lea Patria M. Lauraya’s term as university president formally ends on March 8.—BICOLSTANDARD.COM

Featured Post

Advantages and disadvantages of mother tongue-based education

Photo: Naga Smiles to the World by Shiela S. Ronquillo Del Gallego Central, Del Gallego District Since School Year (SY) 2012-2013,...