3 cities, 5 towns under state of calamity as Albay braces for Mayon eruption

LEGAZPI CITY--Legazpi City, Tabaco City, Ligao City, and the towns of Guinobatan, Camalig, Daraga, Sto. Domingo, and Malilipot are now under a state of calamity as the province prepares for the imminent eruption of Mayon Volcano.

Governor Joey Sarte Salceda, who is also the chairman of the Albay Provincial Disaster Risk Reduction Management Council, directed the LDRRMCs to ger ready for the evacuation of the residents in the 6 to 8-km extended danger zone (EDZ).

Some 10,546 families are estimated to live within said zone, a report from the DSWD said.

Salceda announced that classes will be suspended in schools with classrooms to be used as evacuation centers and in schools located within the 8-km EDZ down the slopes of Mayon volcano due to threats of eruption.

Meanwhile, the Albay PDRRMC has ordered counter-measures for disaster avoidance, including forced evacuation on all settlers (whether returning or newly settled) to enforce the no-human activity inside the 6-km PDZ. --BICOLSTANDARD.COM/PNA


Powered by Blogger.