Camarines Sur listed among top 10 with poorest households

Camarines Sur listed among top 10 with poorest households
Two separate reports name Camarines Sur part of the top poorest provinces in the entire nation.
One was announced by National Economic Development Authority (NEDA) Director General Arsenio Balisacan last Monday in a briefing on its updated Philippine Development Plan.

The NEDA director identified the province as one of the top 10 provinces with the poorest households in the Philippines.

Another report comes from the Agricultural Credit and Policy Council, which approved a P1-billion credit line for farmers and fishers in the top 20 poorest provinces in the Philippines.

Top 10 provinces with poorest households

In the list released by NEDA, Camarines Sur joins the provinces of Sulu, Leyte, Zamboanga del Sur, Davao del Sur, Pangasinan, Cebu, Quezon, Iloilo, and Negros Occidental. These provinces comprise what NEDA calls Category 1 provinces.

Balisacan also named two other groups of poor provinces, Category 2, which was comprised of areas with armed conflict, and Category 3, or areas with multiple geohazards.

The Category 2 provinces are Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, Eastern Samar, Apayao, Zamboanga del Norte, Camiguin, Saranggani, North Cotabato, Masbate and Northern Samar.

Meanwhile, those classified under Category 3 are Abra, Agusan del Sur, Albay, Antique, Aurora, Benguet, Bohol, Cagayan, Catanduanes, Cavite, Dinagat Islands, Eastern Samar, Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur and Iloilo.

Depending on which category a province is classified, the NEDA will employ a different poverty-reduction strategy.

In the group in which Camarines Sur belongs, the government agency will focus on enhancing the skills set of the members of poor households, and later facilitate their employment in jobs that match said skills.

Top 20 poorest provinces

Camarines Sur was also included in the list top 20 poorest provinces in the nation which have been given access by the Agricultural Credit and Policy Council (ACPC) to a P1B credit line.

The other provinces in the top 20 list are Abra, Agusan del Sur, Apayao, Camarines sur, Davao Oriental, Eastern Samar, Ifugao, Kalinga, Masbate, Mountain Province, North Cotabato, Northern Samar, Romblon, Sarangani, Siguijor, Sultan Kudarat, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, Western Samar and Zamboanga del Norte.

The ACPC already submitted the fund from which farmers and fishermen may borrow to the Land Bank of the Philippines and microfinance provider People’s Credit and Finance Corp (PCFC) last Friday.

Bicol Standard on Twitter
Bicol Standard on Facebook
Bicol Standard on Youtube
Bicol Standard on Instagram
Bicol Standard on Google+
Bicol Standard on Pinterest