Bicolana businesswoman Loida Nicolas-Lewis receives Carlos P. Romulo award

Loida Nicolas-Lewis is given the Carlos P. Romulo Award for International Achievement.
(PHOTO: Loida Nicolas-Lewis Facebook Fan Page)
Bicolanas continue to bring honors to the region with the conferment of Carlos P. Romulo (CPR) Award for International Achievement to Sorsogon-born American businesswoman-lawyer Loida Nicolas-Lewis last January 14.

Lewis joined international boxer and Saranggani representative Manny Pacquiao, Commission on Higher Education (CHEd) Chair Patricia Licuanan, and Foreign Secretary Albert del Rosario as recent awardees of the said honors organized by the United Nations Association of the Philippines (UNAP) and conferred by President Benigno Aquino III during the awarding rites at Malacañang last week.

New York-based Lewis is the chairperson and chief executive officer (CEO) of The Lewis Corporation (TLC) Beatrice LLC, a family investment firm and multinational company established by her late black american husband Reginald Lewis which she has taken over after his death. She also leads a foundation named after her husband and is a known figure in the US Asian-American community and considered as one of the most influential persons in the field of business.

Lewis established The Lewis College (TLC) in Sorsogon City in 1999 which is now one of the leading private schools in the province of Sorsogon that offers scholarships to needy students.

“The idea of starting a school was something that I was excited about, It has always been my belief that the best way out of poverty is education” Lewis said.

Earlier this month, Lewis made a homecoming to her home province to grace the induction of the new set officers of the Philippine Chamber of Commerce and Industry (PCCI) Sorsogon Chapter.

The conferment of the award coincided with the 115th birthday of the late Filipino statesman and former UN Secretary General Carlos P. Romulo who was known for his celebrated speech “I Am a Filipino.”

In a statement, UNAP said that the awardees were chosen for their contribution to development and world peace through their diverse personal and professional achievements which brought pride to the Filipinos.

Founded in 1947, UNAP is an organization that helps the country meet the ideals of the UN and has been organizing educational activities with regard to UN days and observances, and environmental protection projects.

Past awardees included Lea Salonga, former Sen. Leticia Ramos Shahani and former President Fidel V. Ramos, the late Senators Jose W. Diokno and Lorenzo Tañada, and the late Chief Justice Claudio Teehankee.

The selection of the awardees was approved on December 15, 2013 coinciding with the death anniversary of Romulo. (MAL/JJJP-PIA5/Albay)


Powered by Blogger.