Batanes, Bordado, Oñate vie for CBSUA Presidency

REUNION. All three contenders for the presidency of CBSUA, Dr. Joel Batanes, Dr. Georgina Junsay-Bordado and Dr. Wenifredo Oñate come from the same batch that graduated from the same school in 1972. FROM L-R: Batanes, Oñate, Art Agreda (their former professor), Junsay-Bordado, Oscar Orosco (of the Naga City Environmental Office) and Gil Basmayor (Bicol Standard publisher and former mayor of Minalabac). This photo was taken after an unplanned get-together in Naga City last October 5, 41 years after their high school graduation. (PHOTO: BICOL STANDARD)

PILI, CSUR—Three alumni of the Central Bicol State University of Agriculture will slug it out for the post of University President during a public presentation and open forum at the CBSUA Auditorium on December 16, 9:00 AM.

The contenders, Dr. Joel Batanes, Dr. Wenifredo Oñate, and Dr. Georgina Junsay-Bordado, are all graduates of class 1972 of the University previously known as Camarines Sur Agricultural School, Camarines Sur Regional Agricultural School, and Camarines Sur State Agricultural College (CSAAC).

The three applicants were selected by the Search Committee for President (SCP), which was in charge of screening at least five applicants, as mandated by the guidelines.

The SCP is composed of Emerlinda R. Roman, Chairman; Dr. Freddie T. Bernal, Prof. Maria Victoria B. Refereza, Dr. Fay Lea Patria M. Lauraya, and Ms. Clarine P. Tobias.

Said committee disqualified two other applicants after reviewing the documents that they submitted.
During the public presentation, the three remaining contenders will discuss their vision, mission, goals, plans and programs before the Search Committee for President (SCP).

An open forum will be held after the presentation to allow the audience to ask questions on some particular matters relative to their personal views about running the university affairs.

All honor students during their graduation from the secondary department, Oñate was the class valedictorian for boys; Bordado, class valedictorian for girls; and Batanes, 2nd honorable mention.
All three applicants spent years residing right within the campus grounds, and are thus said to be very familiar with the University.

After the public presentation, the University President will finally be named by the University Board of Regents, comprised of the following: Ramon Arimado, OIC President; Senator Pia Cayetano, Senate Committee on Education; Leni Robredo, Congresswoman, 2nd District; Romeo Escandor, Executive Director, NEDA Region V; Tomas B. Briñas, Executive Director, DOST Region V; Abelardo Bragas, Regional Executive Director, DARFU; Robert Bayonito, Alumni Federation; Celerino Llesol Jr., Faculty Federation President; Raul Carreras, Private Sector Represenative; Alfredo Perdon, Private Sector Represenative; Maricris Araña, CBSUA Supreme Student Council Federation President; and Ruperto Sangalang, Commissioner, CHED and Chairman, Board of Regents.